More Baths Less Talking

morebathslesstalking

Hornby, Nick. More Baths Less Talking: Notes from the Reading Life of a Celebrated Author Locked in Battle with Football, Family, and Time Itself. San Francisco: Believer Books, 2012.

Reading Nick Hornby always makes me excited about reading again, because he is just plain fun to read. And in his column “Stuff I’ve Been Reading” for The Believer, he reminds me that it’s OK to read what you want to read and read for fun. Sometimes it may be weird and sometimes you may find yourself in strange phases as you read what you happen to be interested in or what you think that you might want to be interested in, but that’s OK too. He also gives me a model for what I’d love this blog to be: personal, fun, and real. When I write, I don’t usually let myself have as much fun as Hornby seems to have when he writes, despite the oppressive demands of The Polysyllabic Spree, but I should. That’s the whole reason I started this blog more than three (wow) years ago, to be my “non-required reading list—all the books that I have read since I graduated from college.” This is not a chore. This is reading for fun.

So now it’s just beginning to feel like lovely autumn in New York, and here’s hoping I can cuddle up this season with many more great books, and write about them here, and keep learning, and have fun.

[See also: The Polysyllabic SpreeHousekeeping Vs. The Dirt]

– jc

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.